news 1 week ago

NASCAR playoff standings 2019: Updated points for Cup chase after the Drydene 400 at Dover

Sporting News — (Arthur Weinstein)

Kyle Larson broke a 75-race winless streak to win the Drydene 400 at Dover International Speedway Sunday, on a day that saw several NASCAR playoff drivers post terrible finishes.

It's Larson's sixth career victory, but first since September 2017 at Richmond. Better yet, the victory locks him into the Round of 8.

"Everybody in this playoff will know stress next week at Talladega, except for me," Larson told NBCSN afterward.

"To win a playoff race is special. I hope there's another one in our future, especially in the next round."

While Larson was celebrating his good fortune, several NASCAR playoff drivers left Dover in a big hole. Chase Elliott, who entered the Round of 12 in sixth place, suffered a blown engine less than 10 laps into the race and finished last.

Ryan Blaney suffered brake problems and finished 35th. Joey Logano had to pit before the green flag dropped to start the race with a mechanical issue, and returned almost two-dozen laps down. He finished 34th.

On the other hand, Martin Truex Jr., who finished second, had a great run, as did fellow playoff drivers Alex Bowman, Kevin Harvick and Denny Hamlin, who finished third through fifth.

The NASCAR Playoffs continue Oct. 13 at Talladega Superspeedway.

NASCAR playoff points standings 2019

Rank Driver Wins Points
No. 1Kyle Larson13,063
Martin Truex Jr.63,095
Denny Hamlin43,080
No. 4Kyle Busch43,080
No. 5Kevin Harvick33,074
No. 6Brad Keselowski33,052
No. 7Alex Bowman13,049
No. 8William Byron03,032
No. 9Joey Logano23,032
No. 10Clint Bowyer03,028
No. 11Chase Elliott03,025
No. 12Ryan Blaney03,010
No. 13Aric Almirola02,101
No. 14Ryan Newman02,085
No. 15Kurt Busch12,084
No. 16Erik Jones12,037
No. 17Jimmie Johnson0740
No. 18Daniel Suarez0730
No. 19Paul Menard0656
No. 20Chris Buescher0599
No. 21Matt DiBenedetto0585
No. 22Ricky Stenhouse Jr.0563
No. 23Austin Dillon0558
No. 24Ty Dillion0509
No. 25Daniel Hemric0425
No. 26Bubba Wallace0420
No. 27Ryan Preece0405
No. 28Michael McDowell0396
No. 29Corey LaJoie0334
No. 30David Ragan0330
No. 31Matt Tifft0316
No. 32Reed Sorenson093
No. 33Quin Houff073
No. 34Jamie McMurray019
No. 35Austin Theriault015
No. 36Andy Seuss09
No. 37Stanton Barrett02
No. 38Casey Mears01

How the NASCAR playoffs work:

Sixteen NASCAR drivers qualified for the playoffs. Four were eliminated in the Sept. 29 race at Charlotte. Four more will be eliminated in the Oct. 20 race at Kansas, and four more will fall out at Phoenix on Nov. 10, leaving the final four drivers to compete straight up for for the NASCAR Cup title Nov. 17 at Homestead-Miami Speedway as the first of the four playoff drivers to cross the finish line is crowned the champion.

How drivers earn points:

– Win Stage 1 or Stage 2 in a race: 1 playoff point (point awarded per stage win)
– Win a race: 5 playoff points
– Win the regular-season championship: 15 playoff points

Second place in the final regular-season standings earns 10 playoff points, third place receives eight points, and the points awarded decline to one point for 10th (4th = 7 points, 5th = 6 points, etc.).

Championship-contending drivers can accumulate additional playoff points throughout the playoffs via stage and race wins and may use all the playoff points they earn, from both the regular season and the playoffs, to advance all the way up to the Championship 4.

Playoff points are added to a championship-contending driver’s reset points total at the start of every round of the playoffs until they are eliminated from championship contention.

At Homestead-Miami, playoff points are off the table and the Championship 4 drivers enter the “winner-take-all” race tied in the standings. 

Cup playoff information provided by NASCAR.