news 1 week ago

What channel is NASCAR on today? Time, TV schedule for Texas race

Sporting News — (Tadd Haislop)

What channel is the NASCAR race on today? What time does the NASCAR race start? These are the questions that plague race fans every Sunday, when each Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race will be on either NBC or NBCSN for the second half of the 2019 season with differing start times.

As for Sunday's AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway, the Cup Series' second visit to the track this season and the eighth race of the 2019 playoffs, the channel that will broadcast the race is NBCSN. The race at Texas will start at 3 p.m. ET.

The 3 p.m. ET start time for the Texas race Sunday is the second of three such start times for the Cup Series playoffs (Martinsville and Homestead) this season. As for the TV channel, the NASCAR Cup Series this weekend is on NBCSN for the 13th and final time this year. As part of NBC's TV deal with NASCAR for the 2019 season, NBC was slated to show seven of the final 20 races of the season, with the other 13 scheduled to be shown on NBCSN.

Q&A: Jimmie Johnson talks NASCAR's future, midweek Cup races, more

Sunday's race at Texas, which will consist of three stages (85 laps, 85 laps and 164 laps), is the 35th race on the NASCAR Cup Series schedule (34th when not counting the All-Star Race). There are just three races left this season and two races to go before the final cut-off point of the playoffs.

Texas Motor Speedway is a 1.5-mile oval that features 20-degree banking in Turns 1 and 2, 24-degree banking in Turns 3 and 4, and five-degree banking on the frontstretch and backstretch. Denny Hamlin won the spring race this year at Texas, and Kevin Harvick won the track's fall playoff race last season.

Below is all the info you need regarding how to watch Sunday's NASCAR race at Texas.

What channel is NASCAR on today?

  • TV channel: NBCSN
  • Live stream: NBC Sports App
  • Radio: PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Sunday's race at Texas is the 13th and final race this season scheduled to be shown on NBCSN. The network's broadcast crew consists of Rick Allen, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Burton and Steve Letarte in the booth, with Marty Snider, Dave Burns, Kelli Stavast and Parker Kligerman reporting from pit road.

In addition to the TV coverage on NBCSN, Sunday's race at Texas is available via live stream on the NBC Sports App and

NASCAR at Texas: What time does today's race start?

  • Date: Sunday, Nov. 3
  • Time: 3 p.m. ET
  • Location: Texas Motor Speedway

Texas was added to the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs in 2005, replacing Darlington Raceway. The track has hosted the eighth playoff race on the schedule ever since.

Of the eight Cup Series playoff drivers competing for a spot in the Championship 4, four (Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Blaney, Kyle Larson and Chase Elliott) have never won at Texas or at the site of next week's race, Phoenix’s ISM Raceway.

The worst finish in a playoff race at Texas by a driver who went on to win the title was 38th by Jimmie Johnson in 2009. Last season’s champion, Joey Logano, finished third in the playoff race at Texas.

MORE: Current NASCAR playoff standings

NASCAR schedule 2019

Date Race Track Time/TV info/winner
Feb. 10Advance Auto Parts ClashDaytona International SpeedwayJimmie Johnson
Feb. 14Gander RV Duel 1 at DaytonaDaytona International SpeedwayKevin Harvick
Feb. 14Gander RV Duel 2 at DaytonaDaytona International SpeedwayJoey Logano
Feb. 17Daytona 500Daytona International SpeedwayDenny Hamlin
Feb. 24Folds of Honor QuickTrip 500Atlanta Motor SpeedwayBrad Keselowski
March 3Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy LubeLas Vegas Motor SpeedwayJoey Logano
March 10TicketGuardian 500ISM RacewayKyle Busch
March 17AutoClub 400Auto Club SpeedwayKyle Busch
March 24STP 500Martinsville SpeedwayBrad Keselowski
March 31O'Reilly Auto Parts 500Texas Motor SpeedwayDenny Hamlin
April 7Food City 500Bristol Motor SpeedwayKyle Busch
April 13Toyota Owners 400Richmond RacewayMartin Truex Jr.
April 28Geico 500Talladega SpeedwayChase Elliott
May 5Cup Series Race at DoverDover International SpeedwayMartin Truex Jr.
May 11Cup Series Race at KansasKansas SpeedwayBrad Keselowski
May 18Monster Energy OpenCharlotte Motor Speedway
May 18Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star RaceCharlotte Motor SpeedwayKyle Larson
May 26Coca-Cola 600Charlotte Motor SpeedwayMartin Truex Jr.
June 2Pocono 400Pocono RacewayKyle Busch
June 10FireKeepers Casino 400Michigan International SpeedwayJoey Logano
June 23Toyota/Save Mart 350Sonoma RacewayMartin Truex Jr.
June 30Camping World 400Chicagoland SpeedwayAlex Bowman
July 6Coke Zero Sugar 400Daytona International SpeedwayJustin Haley
July 13Quaker State 400Kentucky SpeedwayKurt Busch
July 21Foxwoods Resort Casino 301New Hampshire Motor SpeedwayKevin Harvick
July 28Gander Outdoors 400Pocono RacewayDenny Hamlin
Aug. 4Go Bowling at The GlenWatkins Glen InternationalChase Elliott
Aug. 11Consumers Energy 400Michigan International SpeedwayKevin Harvick
Aug. 17Bass Pro Shops NRA Night RaceBristol Motor SpeedwayDenny Hamlin
Sept. 1Bojangles' Southern 500Darlington RacewayErik Jones
Sept. 8Big Machine Vodka 400Indianapolis Motor SpeedwayKevin Harvick

2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup playoff schedule

DateRaceTrackTime/TV info/winner
Sept. 15South Point 400Las Vegas Motor SpeedwayMartin Truex Jr.
Sept. 21Federated Auto Parts 400Richmond RacewayMartin Truex Jr.
Sept. 29Bank of America ROVAL 400Charlotte Motor Speedway Road CoarseChase Elliott
Oct. 6Cup Series Race at DoverDover International SpeedwayKyle Larson
Oct. 500Talladega SuperspeedwayRyan Blaney
Oct. 20Hollywood Casino 400Kansas SpeedwayDenny Hamlin
Oct. 27First Data 500Martinsville SpeedwayMartin Truex Jr.
Nov. 3AAA Texas 500Texas Motor Speedway3 p.m., NBCSN/ fuboTV
Nov. 10Cup Series Race at ISMISM Raceway2:30 p.m., NBC/ fuboTV
Nov. 17Ford EcoBoost 400Homestead-Miami Speedway3 p.m., NBC/ fuboTV